Oblivion

Before I talk a little about the film, thought I’d mention Silver Linings Day 7. Today I did just under an hour of jogging and my right knee seems to hurt a little when I walk (not a lot, but I notice it). It’s been raining and if it is raining quite a bit tomorrow afternoon then I don’t think I will run.

Anyway Oblivion. The film. It’s released today in the UK so if you are from another country it have already been released or soon-to-be released and because of this I won’t give any spoilers away. The film is about a veteran (Cruise obviously) assigned to extract Earth’s remaining resources begins to question what he knows about his mission and himself – he and his partner are like the human versions of Eve in Walle.

Now to start with I have to say, I think it’s one of the best films with Tom Cruise in a long time – yes, Mission Impossible 4 was good but I like this just a tad more. The special effects and cinematography is incredible. The way the Earth is completely ruined, eroded and deserted is really realistic – no, I’m not giving anything away there as Cruise says that Earth is ruined in the film, and you see it. As for the machines the characters use, well they are very creative and also very realistic. The cast is great and I like that (apart from Cruise, Morgan Freeman, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (Jamie Lannister in Game of Thrones) & Melissa Leo) the rest of the small cast are not as famous – meaning I don’t see the actor as the character, e.g. everytime I see a film with George Clooney in it, I think it’s George Clooney and not the character. With actors who are not worldwide famous I am able to believe in the character more and get into the film.

Some of the twists are predictable (like the woman he keeps having dreams about) and I hate that in the trailer for it you see Morgan Freeman in his outfit – it makes one of the twists predictable and you can tell something is not all it seems – hence the film’s title. However, there are some shocking moments and some twists and when you wonder/question something during the film and then it’s answered at the end you are like ‘no way’. I will admit the beginning is slightly long before things happen, but the director has done that so that just like in the film Walle, you can understand how long the main character has been on Earth and how everyday is basically the same routine. I like the end, there’s twists and answers are solved, sort of, maybe (der der derrrrrrrr). Overall, Oblivion is a different film to the ones you see today and I probably would see it again because of the cast, the effects, and the plot/idea. When I first heard about this, I was really excited about the plot, actually the whole film in general to be honest. I’d recommend it.

Leave a Reply

